Purdue professors appointed to EPA Science Advisory Board

August 3, 2021

A pair of Purdue University professors have been appointed to the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency’s newly reconstituted Scientific Advisory Board.

Sylvie Brouder, professor of agronomy and Wickersham Chair of Excellence in Agricultural Research, was appointed to the board and its Agricultural Sciences Committee.

Dominique Y van der Mensbrugghe, research professor and director of Purdue’s Center for Global Trade Analysis, was appointed to the board and its Economic Analysis Committee.

The two will join 45 other newly selected board members representing universities and business interests in reviewing proposed EPA actions.

“This highly qualified, diverse group of experts will ensure that EPA is receiving sound science-based advice to inform our work to protect people and the environment from pollution,” said EPA Administrator Michael S. Regan. “We worked expeditiously and deliberately to finalize the new Science Advisory Board, and now we can move forward knowing EPA’s work is guided by the most credible, independent expertise.”

In March, Regan dismissed all members of the board and members of the Clean Air Scientific Advisory Committee selected by the Trump administration, saying several actions undertaken by the previous administration caused “deficiencies” that hampered the two entities’ ability to protect human health and the environment.

The previous incarnation of the board was chaired by Indiana University professor John Graham, the former dean of IU’s O’Neill School of Public and Environmental Affairs. The board’s new chair is Alison Cullen, Daniels J. Evans Endowed Professor of Environmental Policy at the University of Washington.

Purdue professors appointed to EPA Science Advisory Board